Lady Spiker Profile: Abby Maraño

photo from: Go Archers


Name: Abigail Maraño
Nickname: Abby
ID no.: 109
Course: AB Philippine Mass Media Major in Filipino

Hobbies? Watching series from America like Revenge, Gossip Girl, Glee…
Favorite tambayan? Gym or the court.
What is volleyball for you? Volleyball, for me, is life. It’s a situation sport. When you spike, you show your anger; when you block, you display your power; when you serve, you develop your courage; and when you receive, you show your supremacy. In order to play volleyball, you have to have the courage, strength, determination and good mind-setting. So that is volleyball for me. There is a life beyond the word “volleyball”.
What got you started? Peer pressure from my friends. The gay friends who played volleyball, my childhood friends. We tend to play volleyball every afternoon sa streets lang, nakapaa.
Why do you love your sport? I love my sport because this is where my life is revolving now. And as a student, para siyang twin with my studies kasi when you are an athlete and a student, parang sila yung twin eh. And siyempre, sa sport ko, you develop the discipline, yung kakaibang discipline na wala yung mga ibang tao. So in my sport, it is not just an ordinary sport but an extraordinary sport that develops my personality and skills as a human being.
What is your source of motivation? Number one motivation is God because siya yung pinaka-source of energy and strength ko when it comes to frustrations because I believe that the more you do well, the more you become frustrated, the more you become sad, the more people expect from you, and the more people expect from you, the more you get frustrated about yourself, and so the more you try to do more. Another thing is my teammates kasi ‘pag nakikita mo silang pagod na tapos ikaw, kailangan hindi ka mapagod, as a leader, you have to show them na walang pagod, walang sakit or walang tigil.
Wise words: The will to win gets you to championship, but the will to train makes you a champion.

Interview and video by: Bea Fernandez

Leave a comment